Skip to main content

Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety (Certificate)

The Certificate in Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety (HQPS) provides a structured curriculum that presents the emerging content and skills healthcare professionals need to become effective quality and safety practitioners and leaders.  

The relatively new disciplines of healthcare quality and patient safety have emerged as central to the development of good healthcare, and require acquisition of substantive knowledge and skills.

This is a one-year, part-time, classroom-based program that does not require Chicago residence. Students attend a series of classroom-based intensive sessions at our Chicago Campus and complete the independent study remotely.

Who to contact

Please contact the program director, listed below, with questions about this program. Or, explore the Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety website for more information.

  • Laurie Olmsted
    633 North Saint Clair Street, 20th Floor
    Chicago, IL 60611
    Phone: (312) 503-5520

The following requirements are in addition to, or further elaborate upon, those requirements outlined in The Graduate School Policy Guide.

The Certificate consists of the four core courses of the Master’s program and an Independent Study or an elective course:

Required courses

  1. HQS 401: Introduction to Healthcare Quality
  2. HQS 402: Introduction to Patient Safety
  3. HQS 499: Independent Study or Elective Course
  4. HQS 501: Advanced Healthcare Quality
  5. HQS 502: Advanced Patient Safety

Visit the Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety website for more information.