Skip to main content


Each year, we recognize outstanding members of our community through The Graduate School Awards and the Ver Steeg Awards.

2018 Ver Steeg Awards

Named for Clarence Ver Steeg, PhD, former Northwestern University Professor in History, and Dean of The Graduate School from 1975 to 1986, this award recognizes one outstanding faculty member and one outstanding staff member each year for their contributions of excellence in working with graduate students of The Graduate School.

Wei Chen, PhD | Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Wei Chen, PhD

Faculty Award

As a Director of Graduate Studies, Professor Chen has made a dedicated effort to recruit a diverse and top-quality student body. She mentors students to achieve their potential in research and guides them to launch their careers. As a highly successful female faculty member, she is a great role model to our female students.

Nathan Mead | Program Assistant, English

Nathan Mead

Staff Award

Nathan's work on behalf of graduate students exhibits a tireless devotion, a meticulous attention to detail, and a great sense of the big picture. He uses his astute and pivotal knowledge of TGS, Weinberg, and Northwestern to help our students every day, as well as sheer kindness and diplomacy in his infinity of interactions, both in person and online.