Skip to main content


2019 McBride Awards

Named for Dwight A. McBride, PhD, former Daniel Hale Williams Professor of African American Studies, English & Performance Studies, Dean of The Graduate School, and Associate Provost for Graduate Education from 2010 to 2017, this award recognizes one outstanding TGS student and one postdoctoral trainee who go above and beyond in any or all of the areas of diversity, service, and engagement: the strategic priorities McBride worked to foster in the graduate community at Northwestern.


Abha Gosavi | PhD Candidate, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Abha Gosavi

Student Award

Abha is an exemplary example of an engaged and productive graduate student. She has served as the president of the Indian Graduate Student Association, the chair of professional development for Graduate Women Across Northwestern, and a member of the International Student Advisory Board. She led an incredibly important push for improved graduate student research safety by co-founding the Research Safety Student Initiative and has assisted in organizing numerous events to create an environment of inclusion for international students.

Colleen Zaccard, PhD | Postdoctoral Trainee, Physiology

Colleen Zaccard, PhD

Postdoctoral Trainee Award

As the creative and energetic force behind the Chicago Women in STEM Initiative, an offshoot of the NU Postdoctoral Association, Dr. Zaccard works tirelessly to support woman-identified STEM scholars. She organized a successful conference for International Women’s Day 2018 (and is currently planning the 2019 conference) and recently launched STEM Circuits, an innovative ongoing peer mentorship network. She is an outstanding personality, inspiring us all to do more for equity and inclusion in the field.