Skip to main content

Recognition Awards

The Graduate School Ver Steeg & McBride Awards logo

The Graduate School (TGS) is pleased to recognize outstanding members of our community committed to service excellence through our annual Ver Steeg and McBride Awards.

Ver Steeg awards

Ver Steeg Awards

Named for Clarence Ver Steeg, PhD, former Northwestern University Professor in History and Dean of The Graduate School from 1975 to 1986, this award annually recognizes one outstanding graduate faculty member and one non-faculty staff member for excellence in working with students of The Graduate School.

More about the Ver Steeg Awards
McBride awards group

McBride Awards

Named for Dwight A. McBride, PhD, former Dean of The Graduate School and Associate Provost for Graduate Education from 2010 to 2017, these awards recognize one outstanding TGS student and one postdoctoral scholar who go above and beyond in any or all of the areas of diversity, service, and engagement: the strategic priorities McBride worked to foster in the graduate community at Northwestern.

More about the McBride Awards