Contact

The Graduate School staff works closely with the staff and faculty of its partner schools. For specific information about a particular school or graduate program, we encourage you to contact that school or program directly. You will find this information by visiting the academic programs list list or our DGS Contact list. Please note: the Chicago campus office of The Graduate School may be reached directly by calling 312-503-8901.

Need more information about how TGS is structured? View our organizational chart.

Office of the Dean

Dwight A. McBride, PhD | Associate Provost for Graduate Education & Dean of The Graduate School
Dwight A. McBride, PhD

Phone: 847-491-8502
Email: tgsdean@northwestern.edu

Dwight A. McBride, the Daniel Hale Williams Professor of African American Studies, English & Performance Studies, assumed the role of Associate Provost for Graduate Education & Dean of The Graduate School (TGS) on November 1, 2010. Read full bio.

Sarah McGill | Senior Associate Dean
Sarah McGill

Phone: 847-467-3847
Email: sarah.mcgill@northwestern.edu

Sarah McGill joined The Graduate School (TGS) as Associate Dean for Administration and Planning in Fall 2012 and was promoted to Senior Associate Dean in Summer 2014 serving as the chief deputy to the Dean of TGS. Read full bio.

Tracy Davis, PhD | Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Tracy Davis, PhD

Phone: 847-467-3267
Email: tcdavis@northwestern.edu

Tracy C. Davis has served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at The Graduate School (TGS) since winter 2012. Read full bio.

William Karpus, PhD | Associate Dean for Student Affairs
William Karpus, PhD

Phone: 312-503-1005
Email: w-karpus@northwestern.edu

William J. Karpus was appointed Associate Dean for Student Affairs at The Graduate School (TGS) in Summer 2012. Read full bio.

Monica Gerlach, PhD | Assistant Dean for Planning & Academic Resources
Monica Gerlach, PhD

Phone: 847-491-8497
Email: m-gerlach@northwestern.edu

Elizabeth K. Brasher | Executive Assistant to the Dean & Associate Provost
Elizabeth K. Brasher

Phone: 847-491-8181
Email: e-brasher@northwestern.edu

Administration & Finance

Avni Soni | Financial Data Analyst
Avni Soni

Phone: 847-467-4166
Email: avni.soni@northwestern.edu

Natalie Hudson | Manager of Administration and Special Projects
Natalie Hudson

Phone: 847-467-1845
Email: n-hudson@northwestern.edu

Bianca Allen | Program Assistant, Service Center
Bianca Allen

Phone: 847-491-5279
Email: bianca-allen@northwestern.edu

Eric Long | Program Assistant, Service Center
Eric Long

Phone: 847-491-5279
Email: eric.long@northwestern.edu

Academic Affairs

Faculty and Staff: contact with routine cluster administration, progress review scheduling, mentoring events and curriculum review questions.

Angela Ripp | Coordinator, Academic Affairs
Angela Ripp

Phone: 847-467-4459
Email: angela.ripp@northwestern.edu

Admissions & Recruitment

Faculty/Staff: Contact with admission policy and process questions. Applicants: Please contact your individual admitting department directly.

Nick Alena | Associate Director of Admissions and Recruitment
Nick Alena

Phone: 847-491-3421
Email: n-alena@northwestern.edu

Cate Arrom | Program Assistant, Admissions and Recruitment
Cate Arrom

Phone: 847-491-8536
Email: c-arrom@northwestern.edu

Diversity and Inclusion

Nsombi B. Ricketts | Assistant Dean, Diversity & Inclusion
Nsombi B. Ricketts

Phone: 847-491-5995
Email: nsombi.ricketts@northwestern.edu

Brittany Lowe-Lipsey | Program Assistant, Diversity & Inclusion
Brittany Lowe-Lipsey

Phone: 847-467-5163
Email: b.lowe-lipsey@northwestern.edu

English Language Programming

Contact us for information about the English language programs and services that are for international students.

Julia Moore, PhD | Director of English Language Programs
Julia Moore, PhD

Phone: 847-491-5776
Email: jmm@northwestern.edu

Erin Leddon | Associate Director of English Language Programs
Erin Leddon

Phone: 847-467-7092
Email: e-mcmahon@northwestern.edu

Communications

Contact for website updates, dean letters, TGS Wire and event listings, and to submit contact information for academic programs.

Josephine Whetstone | Assistant Director of Communications
Josephine Whetstone

Phone: 847-491-3226
Email: jwhetstone@northwestern.edu

Events

Contact for information about upcoming events.

Matthew Slomka | Director of Outreach and Special Programs
Matthew Slomka

Phone: 847-491-8176
Email: m-slomka@northwestern.edu

Financial Aid

Contact for everything related to financial aid except for student loans. For student loans, contact Student Financial Services.

Patricia Mann | Assistant Dean Financial Aid
Patricia Mann

Phone: 847-491-8495
Email: p-mann@northwestern.edu

Mary MacLean | Financial Aid Coordinator, Assistantships
Mary MacLean

Phone: 847-491-8540
Email: marymac@northwestern.edu

Mike Fernandez | Program Assistant
Mike Fernandez

Phone: 847-491-7334
Email: m-fernandez@northwestern.edu

Holocaust Educational Foundation

Contact us for all inquiries relevant to the Holocaust Educational Foundation at Northwestern University. Visit hef.northwestern.edu for more information.

Benjamin Frommer, PhD | Director
Benjamin Frommer, PhD

Phone: 847-491-2877
Email: b-frommer@northwestern.edu

Alexandra Israel | Program Assistant
Alexandra Israel

Phone: 847-467-4408
Email: alexandra.israel@northwestern.edu

Information Technology

Michael Satut | Director, Information Technology
Michael Satut

Phone: 847-467-0617
Email: m-satut@northwestern.edu

Matthew Carroll | Senior Systems Analyst/Programmer
Matthew Carroll

Phone: 847-467-2888
Email: mmcarroll@northwestern.edu

Research & Analysis

Contact for information/data requests on graduate students and postdocs, TGS program statistics webpage, placement database, surveys, internal and external reporting.

Bill Artz | Associate Director of Research and Analysis
Bill Artz

Phone: 847-491-8505
Email: w-artz@northwestern.edu

Student Life

Contact for Activity Fee, U-Pass, Community Building Grants, Nights Out, Days Out, Legal Services, Graduate Student Commons. For all inquiries, please email: tgs-u-pass@northwestern.edu.

Penny Warren | Assistant Dean of Student Life
Penny Warren

Phone: 847-491-8507
Email: p-warren@northwestern.edu

Student Services

For all student service inquiries, please email: gradservices@northwestern.edu.

Kate Veraldi | Director, Student Services
Kate Veraldi

Phone: 847-467-4108
Email: k-veraldi@northwestern.edu
Contact for: Contact for last names beginning V through Z.

Antoaneta Condurat | Coordinator, Student Services
Antoaneta Condurat

Phone: 847-491-8469
Email: a-condurat@northwestern.edu
Contact for: Contact for last names beginning A through J.

Angela Wengrenovich | Student Services Assistant
Angela Wengrenovich

Phone: 847-491-7332
Email: angela.wengrenovich@northwestern.edu
Contact for: Contact for last names beginning K through U.

Training Grant Support & Postdoctoral Affairs

Contact for institutional training grant support — proposal development, best practices, funding agency and NU policies and procedures, training grant data management, issues and questions. Contact for all matters involving Postdoctoral Fellows at Northwestern.

Jennifer Hobbs, PhD | Senior Director, Office of Training Grant Support and Postdoctoral Affairs
Jennifer Hobbs, PhD

Phone: 847-467-0827
Email: jennifer-hobbs@northwestern.edu

Kristen Mighty, PhD | Program Administrator, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
Kristen Mighty, PhD

Phone: 847-467-3542
Email: k-mighty@northwestern.edu

Trent Palzer | Data Assistant, Training Grant Support
Trent Palzer

Phone: 847-467-1026
Email: t-palzer@northwestern.edu