

## Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools **2020**

## **EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD**

The Midwest Association of Graduate Schools is pleased to announce the Excellence in Teaching Award in recognition of graduate students who exemplify excellence in the teaching/learning mission of our universities. Two awards have been created to recognize the importance of excellence in teaching and mentoring as a component of graduate education and the preparation of graduate students for future service as college and university faculty. One award will be given to a doctoral student and one to a master's student. Each award includes a citation and a \$750 honorarium that will be presented at the annual meeting of the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS).

The MAGS Excellence in Teaching Award competition is open to all graduate students who have graduate student teaching appointments and are enrolled in a member institution during the 2018-2019 calendar year. Institutions are restricted to one nomination of a doctoral student and one nomination of a master's student. Following formal institutional review and selection, nomination(s) must be submitted by the Dean of the Graduate School/College (or designee) using the enclosed application form. Nominations must include a letter of nomination from the Dean of the Graduate School/College, a letter of support from the department head, the nominee's teaching portfolio (including a link to the teaching video), and current curriculum vitae. Excluding the nomination form, letters of nomination and support, and curriculum vitae, the nominee's teaching portfolio only is limited to six (6) pages double spaced, with a 12 point font.

Nominations must be submitted as a single PDF document, with an embedded link to the teaching video. All materials must be submitted electronically to the MAGS Excellence in Teaching Award Committee before 11:59 p.m. (CST), Friday, January 24, 2020. Please submit materials to <a href="mailto:teaching@mags-net.org">teaching@mags-net.org</a>

Please direct questions by contacting Cheryl Hunter, chairperson of the Teaching Awards Committee by emailing your question(s) to <a href="mailto:teaching@mags-net.org">teaching@mags-net.org</a>

The MAGS Excellence in Teaching Committee

Cheryl Hunter, University of North Dakota, Chair
Jeffrey Potteiger, Grand Valley State University
Marie Khan, University of Illinois at Chicago
Ilir Miteza, University of Michigan – Dearborn
James Strode, Ohio Dominican University
Susan Stapleton, Western Michigan University, Executive Committee Liaison