Critical Theory Cluster and Certificate Requirements

The following requirements are in addition to, or further elaborate upon, those requirements outlined in The Graduate School Policy Guide.

Interdisciplinary Certificate in Critical Theory (ICCT) seminars are open to all interested students. Cluster fellowship students are required to take three Critical Theory related courses outside of their degree program. The choice of courses must be approved by the Director of the Critical Theory Cluster.

To participate in the certificate program, students must declare their affiliation to the Cluster Director and complete five courses, at least two of which must be introductory seminars - such as those listed below - or appropriate substitutes. Please note that no more than two courses can be counted towards the certificate from the student’s degree program.

  • Critical Theory and Literary Studies. Poststructuralism, cultural studies, and postcolonial theory in literary analysis and theory. The influence of psychoanalysis, Marxism, structuralism, semiotics, and post-structuralist thought on contemporary textual analysis. Cultural critique and context-centered methodologies.
  • Critical Theory and Philosophy. Themes may include the origins of critical theory in Kant, Hegel, Marx, and Nietzsche; the contemporary re-emergence of critical theory in the work of the Frankfurt School; and/or the poststructuralist thinkers such as Derrida and Nancy.
  • Critical Theory and the Study of Politics. The concepts of progress and power in politics and in the study of politics: the sources of modern political critique in the Frankfurt School and phenomenology; the critique of positivism in the social sciences; the critique of sovereignty, identity, and race; empire and post-colonial politics.  

The remaining three courses must be chosen from a list of seminars designated annually. The list of courses is posted on the Critical Theory website.

Affiliated Faculty Members (Cluster Committee)

  • Mark Alznauer
  • Penelope Deutscher
  • Ryan Dohoney
  • Peter Fenves
  • Christine Helmer
  • Barnor Hesse
  • James Hodge
  • Cristina Lafont
  • Andrew Leong
  • Michael Loriaux
  • Anna Parkinson
  • Alejandra Uslenghi
  • Samuel Weber
  • Alex Weheliye
  • Barry Wimpfheimer
  • Rachel Zuckert