Skip to main content

Call for Nominations: MAGS 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award

The Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) is pleased to announce the 2019 Excellence in Teaching Award competition, in recognition of graduate students who exemplify excellence in the teaching/learning mission of our universities.
Two awards recognize the importance of excellence in teaching and mentoring as a component of graduate education and the preparation of graduate students for future service as college and university faculty. One award will be given to a doctoral student and one award to a master’s student. Each award includes a citation and a $750 honorarium that will be presented at the MAGS 75th Annual Meeting, March 20-22, 2019, at the Ritz Carlton Hotel, St. Louis, MO.
Nominating a master’s and/or a doctoral candidate from your institution for one of these prestigious awards is an excellent way to recognize and encourage future faculty and support the Council of Graduate Schools’ (CGS) efforts to promote Preparing Future Faculty to meet needs in academia.  Please consider submitting a nomination in each category as appropriate to recognize excellence in your graduate teaching assistants.
Each MAGS member institution may submit one nomination in each of these two categories.

Please review the following materials:

Nominations must include:

  1. Letter of nomination from the Dean of the Graduate School/College
  2. Letter of support from the department head, the nominee’s teaching portfolio (including a link to the teaching video)
  3. Current curriculum vitae

Excluding the nomination form, letters of nomination and support, and curriculum vitae, the nominee’s teaching portfolio only is limited to six (6) pages double spaced, with a 12 point font.

Interested applicants should format their materials according to the published guidelines. The application package must be submitted to Stephen Hill in the Office of Fellowships by Friday, January 11 at 12:00 PM.

The official nominations from each MAGS member institution must be submitted electronically as a single pdf document by the institution (Graduate Dean or designee) to the MAGS Excellence in Teaching Award Committee (MAGSteaching2019@gmail.combefore 11:59 PM, Friday, January 25, 2019.

For more information, please email Stephen Hill.

Categories: Other