• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

Spring Recognition Reception

Created: May 21, 2018
Spring Recognition Reception

Dean Woodruff and The Graduate School (TGS) were pleased to honor the 2017-2018 Ryan Fellows, and the 2017 TGS award recipients at a Spring Recognition Reception on May 15.

2017-2018 Ryan Fellows
The Ryan Fellowship supports the finest graduate students in the country and provides them with the education and experiences to assume leadership roles in the realm of nanotechnology.


Dean Woodruff and some of this year's Ryan Fellows

(Back row left to right):

  • Ziwei Wang, Applied Physics
  • Hyunho Noh, Chemistry
  • Dean Woodruff, The Graduate School
  • Anne d'Aquino, Biological Sciences
  • Jingshan Du, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Ioannina Castano, Chemistry

(Seated left to right):

  • David Burke, Chemistry
  • Allessandra DiCorato, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Michael Moody, Materials Science
  • Sylvia Hanna, Chemistry


  • Katherine Harmon, Applied Physics


  • Shuya Wang, Biological Sciences (pictured at right with Dean Woodruff)

Rounding out the 2017-2018 Ryan Fellows, who were unable to attend the reception, include:

  • Jeffrey Chen, Materials Science
  • Jasper Dittmar, Biomedical Engineering
  • Liban Jibril, Materials Science
  • Yuan Liu, Chemistry
  • Cindy Zheng, Chemistry
2017 TGS Award Recipients
During the reception, Dean Woodruff also recognized the 2017 recipients of the McBride and Ver Steeg Awards.


(Pictured left to right):

  • Andrea d'Aquino, PhD candidate, Chemistry (McBride Award)
  • Nathan Mead, Program Assistant, English (Ver Steeg Staff Award)
  • Dean Woodruff, The Graduate School
  • Wei Chen, PhD, Professor, Mechanical Engineering (Ver Steeg Faculty Award)
McBride Award:
Named for Dwight A. McBride, PhD, former Northwestern University Daniel Hale Williams Professor of African American Studies, English & Performance Studies, Dean of The Graduate School, and Associate Provost for Graduate Education from 2010 to 2017, this award recognizes one outstanding graduate student for their contribution of excellence in the area of diversity, service, or engagement -- the strategic priorities McBride worked to foster in the graduate community of Northwestern.

Ver Steeg Award
Named for Clarence Ver Steeg, PhD, former Northwestern University Professor in History, and Dean of The Graduate School from 1975 to 1986, this award recognizes one outstanding faculty member and one outstanding staff member each year for their contributions of excellence in working with graduate students of The Graduate School.


Congratulations to this year's Ryan Fellows and TGS award recipients!  

Announcements, Around Campus