• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

The Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad competition announces May 6 deadline.

Modified: April 8, 2016

The Program Director for the Fulbright-Hays Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad announced the 2016 competition national deadline as May 6, 2016. The guidelines for the 2016 Fulbright-Hays remain similar to last year.  

Noteworthy changes are as follows.  

This year there will be only two competitive priorities.  Priority #1 is for use of Less Commonly Taught Languages in the research project (3 points).  (See below for list).  The second is for projects in the following fields: economics, engineering, international development, mathematics, political science, public health, science, comparative or international education, or technology (2 points).  This year applicants will receive points independently in each priority category. 

The campus deadline is Friday, April 22, 2016. The Fulbright-Hays website is here. For a list of ineligible countries, view this document. Additionally, the Office of Fellowships will hold an application workshop on April 11 at 9:00am

For questions or additional information, contact Stephen Hill.

Less Commonly Taught Languages recognized by Fulbright-Hays:

Akan (Twi-Fante), Albanian, Amharic, Arabic (all dialects), Armenian, Azeri (Azerbaijani), Balochi, Bamanakan (Bamana, Bambara, Mandikan, Mandingo, Maninka, Dyula), Belarusian, Bengali (Bangla), Berber (all languages), Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Cebuano (Visayan), Chechen, Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Gan), Chinese (Mandarin), Chinese (Min), Chinese (Wu), Croatian, Dari, Dinka, Georgian, Gujarati, Hausa, Hebrew (Modern), Hindi, Igbo, Indonesian, Japanese, Javanese, Kannada, Kashmiri, Kazakh, Khmer (Cambodian), Kirghiz, Korean, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Kurdish (Sorani), Lao, Malay (Bahasa Melayu or Malaysian), Malayalam, Marathi, Mongolian, Nepali, Oromo, Panjabi, Pashto, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese (all varieties), Quechua, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Sinhala (Sinhalese), Somali, Swahili, Tagalog, Tajik, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Tibetan, Tigrigna, Turkish, Turkmen, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uyghur/Uigur, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Wolof, Xhosa, Yoruba, and Zulu.