• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

Presidential Fellows Nomination Deadline November 28

Modified: October 4, 2016

Dear Chairs and DGSes,

I hope this note finds you well. I write to remind you that the deadline for submission of Presidential Fellowship nominations is Monday, November 28, 2016. 

The Presidential Fellowship is The Graduate School’s most prestigious award. More than just an additional funding mechanism for graduate students, recipients of this award join the Society of Fellows, allowing them to connect with outstanding students outside their disciplines and to work with other Fellows, faculty and staff to network by hosting outside speakers, attending quarterly dinners and organizing an annual retreat. Students who are appointed Presidential Fellows should be ready to participate in all of the activities supported by the fellowship.

At the time of nomination, PhD applicants must have been admitted to candidacy and may not be beyond the 5th year of their PhD program. Students appointed as Presidential Fellows are expected to be active in the fellowship and should remain on campus at least one year of the Fellowship, but preferably the two years of the Fellowship.

Additional information about the award, eligibility requirements, and application instructions can be found on The Graduate School’s website. An information session will be held on Monday, October 17 at 1:30 PM in the TGS Commonsin advance of the November 28 application deadline and will be webcast for those who cannot attend in person. If you plan to join by webcast, it is strongly recommended that you download and install the Bluejeans application and test your ability to connect by visiting https://www.bluejeans.com/111/ prior to the meeting. The session will be open to anyone interested in learning more about the Presidential Fellowship, including students, faculty, and program staff. Please contact Kate Veraldi with any additional questions.


Hank Seifert
Associate Dean of Student Affairs
The Graduate School, Northwestern University

Director of Graduate Study, Faculty and Staff