• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

2015 Schiff Foundation Fellowship for Critical Architectural Writing

Modified: February 9, 2015

This year marks the tenth annual Schiff Foundation Fellowship for Critical Architectural Writing, an innovative award program administered by the Department of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago. This program is designed to recognize the talent of young writers and engage them in critical discussions about the built environment.

The award for 2015 is established at $5,000, which will be given to one student enrolled in a degree-granting, graduate-level program at a Chicago-area university.

The guidelines for the award are as follows:

1. Graduate-level students in degree-granting programs of study at Chicago metropolitan area institutions are eligible to receive the Schiff Critical Architectural Writing Fellowship. Students must be enrolled in a course (class, seminar, or independent study) during the 2014–2015 fellowship academic year that includes critical writing about the built environment.

2. Essays produced in courses offered during the Spring 2014 term at any school on the quarter system may be also submitted to this year’s award cycle. Students who matriculate in December 2014 would also be eligible for an award if the submitted essay was produced during the fall 2014 semester or quarter.

3. Student candidates should submit an unpublished, original text, not to exceed 3,000 words or 10 pages (at 300 words per page), which offers a critical/analytical commentary on an aspect(s) of the built environment. The texts must be doublespaced in 12 pt. Times New Roman font, with no less than one inch margins. All citations must appear as endnotes on separate pages and are not counted in the page or word limits. Students may choose to write on any regional, national, or international topic related to architecture or the built environment. Students may choose to include up to two pages of images as an appendix at the conclusion of the essay.

4. The student’s name and university affiliation should not appear on any of the pages of the essay. Instead, the submission must include a one-page résumé with the student’s telephone number and email address, as well as a letter of support from the department chair containing information about the 2014/15 course (class, seminar, or independent study) in which the student is enrolled.

A digital submission of the nomination must be sent to tgs@northwestern.edu no later than April 10, at 5pm.

Once TGS selects a nominee, the nominee will be responsible for completing the following by April 24, at 4pm:

  • Sending six final hard copies of their submission to the Department of Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago, 125 East Monroe Street
  • Sending a digital copy to the award administrator, Alison Fisher