• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

Presidential Fellows Inducted

Created: May 1, 2013

On April 30, Dean McBride, Provost Linzer, and President Schapiro inducted seven new Presidential Fellows into the Society of Fellows at a reception at the Kellogg School’s Allen Center. The Presidential Fellowship is the most prestigious award available to graduate students at Northwestern. It is funded by the President and awarded by The Graduate School. The Society of Fellows is composed of past and present Presidential Fellowship recipients and distinguished faculty members, and the group meets quarterly to view research presentations by current fellows.

Presidential Fellows are selected for their combination of outstanding intellectual and creative abilities. The Presidential Fellowship recipients are:

  • Elizabeth Benjamin, Art History
  • Alla Gadassik, Screen Cultures
  • Maya Gomes, Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Mark Huntington, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Faith Kares, Anthropology
  • Dwayne Nash, African American Studies
  • Lauren Umek, Plant Biology