• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

Fall 2017 CIRTL Events – STEMinism CIRTLcast Series

Modified: September 25, 2017

Fall 2017 CIRTL Events 

The Status of Women Scientists

Part of the series “Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM”

Wednesday, October 4: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
 CIRTL will discuss the participation of women in STEM, assess the challenges they face academically and professionally, and discuss strategies for inclusion.

Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market

Part of the series “Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM”

Wednesday, October 11: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT 
CIRTL will strategize how to prepare for and navigate the job market given unique barriers to advancement that women face, and we will assess how institutions can respond.

Women in STEM Careers Panel

Part of the series “Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM”

Wednesday, October 18: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
 CIRTL will hear from women in STEM at various stages of their careers. They will discuss their disciplinary interests, their workplace environments, and advice for other women in STEM.

Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research

Part of the series “Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM”

Wednesday, October 25: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
 CIRTL will introduce some of the possibilities of critical and feminist pedagogies in STEM teaching and research, and discuss their potential and barriers to their actualization.

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Part of the 2017-2017 Teaching-as-Research programming series

Wednesday, November 29: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT Hear current Teaching-as-Research (TAR) students from across the Network present their nal projects. Current and prospective TAR students are strongly encouraged to attend. 

Professional Development