• Twitter()
  • Facebook()
  • Print this Story
  • Email this Story
Text Size AAA

The CIRTL Network

Modified: May 3, 2016

Summer courses from the CIRTL network.

Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching
This 8-week MOOC begins Wednesday, June 1
Learn about evidence-based instruction through our Massive Open Online Course, taught by faculty from across the CIRTL Network. Unlike the rest of our cross-Network activities, the MOOC is entirely asynchronous, meaning students can work independently throughout the 8-week course. Click here to register.

Disabling Difference in the STEM Classroom: The Disability & Universal Course Design You Need to Know for Inclusion
On Wednesdays starting June 15. Weekly online meetings at 2:15-3:30PM ET/1:15-2:30PM CT/12:15-1:30PM MT/11:15AM-12:30PM PT
Develop teaching practices to support all learners - including those with disabilities - in this class taught by instructors from the University of Rochester. Students will study effective pedagogies and disability regulations to learn the basics of accessible course design. The class will meet weekly for 6 weeks; all participants are required to attend these live, online sessions. Click here to register

Integrating Creativity, Innovation, and Design Thinking in STEM Courses
On Wednesdays starting July 6. Weekly online meetings at 1-2:30PM ET/12-1:30PM CT/11AM-12:30PM MT/10-11:30AM PT
Learn how you can incorporate hands-on creativity into your STEM classroom in this class, taught by instructors from the University of Pittsburgh. This class will meet weekly for 4 weeks; all participants are required to attend these live, online sessions. Click here to register.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching
June 1 and July 18: 4-5:30PM ET/3-4:30PM CT/2-3:30PM MT/1-2:30PM PT. Monday, August 1 - Wednesday, August 3: exact meeting times TBD
Learn the basics of online pedagogy and develop your own online teaching materials in this class, taught by instructors from the University of Georgia and the University of Texas at Arlington. This class will blend live, online sessions (which participants are required to attend) with independent work over the course of 9 weeks. Click here to register.

Cross-Network Workshops

Writing an Academic Resume
Wednesday, June 14 at 11AM-1PM ET/10AM-12PM CT/9-11AM MT/8-10AM PT
Learn how to craft an academic CV that emphasizes your strengths while speaking to NIH and NSF priorities in this workshop led by instructors from the University of Texas at Arlington. In addition to attending the live, online workshop on June 14, participants will be required to do some preparatory work beforehand, and some wrap-up work after. Click here to register.

In-Person Teaching Institutes

Evidence-Based Teaching Institute (Vanderbilt University, May 2016)
In Nashville, TN on Thursday, May 19 and Friday, May 20
Learn the basics of evidence-based teaching in this day-and-a-half institute at Vanderbilt University. Participants will cover a range of topics related to teaching-as-research, including how people learn, challenge-based learning, course design, assessment, classroom management, classroom technology, and scholarly resources. Click here for registration instructions.

Summer Teaching Institute (Johns Hopkins University)
In Baltimore, MD from Tuesday, May 24 through Thursday, May 26
This three-day intensive institute, hosted at Johns Hopkins University, is designed to address common themes and challenges in teaching and education at the post-secondary level. Through faculty presentations and group work, participants will learn about innovations and research in undergraduate education. Click here for registration instructions.

STRIPE Teaching Institute (University of Colorado Boulder)
In Boulder, CO from Monday, June 13 through Friday, June 17
Take part in this week-long teaching institute at the University of Colorado Boulder, specially designed for STEM postdocs. Participants will learn to apply engineering principles of design, build, test and iterate to their curriculum development, drawing from relevant literature and techniques. Click here for registration instructions.

Evidence-Based Teaching Institute (Vanderbilt University, August 2016)
In Nashville, TN on Thursday, August 18 and Friday, August 19
Learn the basics of evidence-based teaching in this day-and-a-half institute at Vanderbilt University. Participants will cover a range of topics related to teaching-as-research, including how people learn, challenge-based learning, course design, assessment, classroom management, classroom technology, and scholarly resources. Click here for registration instructions.

Opportunities Across the Network

Yale Summer Institutes on Undergraduate STEM Education
This summer Yale University is organizing five teaching institutes in June, July, and August. Each institute will take place at a different college campus across the country, and the institutes range from three to five days long. Faculty, teaching staff, and future faculty are invited to apply. Application deadlines for individual institutes are in April and May. Read more and find application information at www.summerinstitutes.org.

Professional Development